Not yet, apparently

I woke up and the first thing that came into my mind was Titiek Sandhora and Muchsin, the Indonesian duet legend of the 80s and their hit wonder ‘Dunia Belum Kiamat’. I giggled. According to the Mayan calendar, it would have been apocalypse early this morning or right now in Mexico but I am writing this down now, so insya Allah the world is still standing.

Dunia belum kiamat, it is Friday though. Still got time to make taubah. Especially me who had been bumming around wasted and making my hips expand when they shouldn’t. By the way, thinking of Titiek Sandhora and Muchsin, I simply love the 70s and 80s music around the region. In the Malay front we had Uji Rashid and Khair Amir, then there were Dj Dave (oh I bumped into him at Coffee Bean Bangsar the other day. STILL looking good like when I was growing up with his songs!), Francesca Peters, Alley Cats (bumped into the surviving one at Giant supermarket, the hair is still huge!), the late 70s and early 80s rockers like Black Dog Bone and Kembara. I tell you, I sang Kembara songs before I knew any nursery rhymes! Especially that Gerhana song… haha. Memories. Even then, the nasyid rocked. None of the current nasyid groups is on par with Al Jawaher, Al Hidayah and Al Mizan, in my humble opinion.

In the Indonesian side, there were Hetty Koes Endang with her Kuda Kepang and Kasih croonings, Jamal Mirdad, Titiek Sandhora and Muchsin. Then there were also the Emilia Contessa and that singer who sang ‘Kalau sudah terpikat, gula jawaa rasa coklaaat’. I can’t remember his name though.

So alhamdulillah, the Mayans were wrong and ‘dunia belum kiamat…’ because I need to make some more taubah before it does and maybe listen to a few more 80s wonders. AND, more time for us to go through life with madu dan racun :p

Leave a Reply

