Aneh tapi…

Alright. Time to continue documenting my journey during the 40-day trip. Let’s see. I have done ‘heartwarming’ episodes. I have done ‘kelakar seram’. Now I would like to write about some ‘strange happenings’ which I experienced first hand in Makkah especially, which I find difficult to explain, what more understand.

In the past, those who have gone to perform their Hajj or Umrah, would come back with stories which can sometimes be far fetched and to a cynical person like me, stories to be taken with a pinch of salt. Well, until I experienced them myself. In each of my trips, I would experience something which I would not be able to explain or to articulate, for fear that people may take the experiences I had as being a lot of bull. But they really happened. And this 40-day trip was no exception.

The first one was about the woman who couldn’t find the Kaabah. I had just finished praying in Masjidil Haram one day and was going back to the hotel when a woman, about in her 50s approached me, looking very exhausted asking me where the Kaabah was. “Heh? I thought? Err? We are in front of the Kaabah? Hullo?” I said in my heart.

I calmly pointed to her the direction of the Kaabah, which was just there. She said she had been walking round and round and all over but she could not find the Kaabah. I said to her, hey look.. that’s the Kaabah, pointing to the front. She strained her neck but she still couldn’t see the Kaabah. How strange! Then she said she will go another round to look for the Kaabah. Needless to say, that incident made me really nervous after that. For reasons I don’t even know.

Next, this happened one night, I think around the 18th of Ramadan. Hubby and I were going to terawih and before that, we stopped by the lane next to the hotel to feed some stray kittens who had since befriended us. They were really cute and their mother trusted us with them. After we fed them, we walked to Masjidil Haram in the open air, along the road divider. Then I felt it. It was drizzling. Bearing in mind this was in the middle of the Saudi Arabian desert in midsummer, no one would be expecting the rain until perhaps next season. Then I looked up. Droplets of water, very cooling too, fell on my face like sprinklers from the sky. I said to hubby, hey it’s raining? I turned to him and he too was looking up, droplets of water fell on his face. Nothing strange about that… until, we looked around.

No one else was reacting. Even the person next to me and next to him. There were no strains of water droplets on their garment as there were on us. Not on the people in front of us too. We turned and looked at the people walking behind us. No reaction. Their garments as dry as bones. What is happening? Was it only on us? Were we hallucinating? But no. There were water stains on our garments and that means it was really drizzling. But how come only on us? The drizzle went on all the way until we stepped into Masjidil Haram. Allahu Akhbar. What was that about?

The next incident was really strange. Hubby and I were arguing about something, on the phone because he was in the different part of the Masjidil Haram and I was in another part. It was really a small matter, really, but we argued to the point it became big, probably because we were both exhausted and emotions ran high. In his anger, he hung up the phone on me. When he had cooled down about half and hour later, he came to look for me at the spot where I was sitting. I was always sitting there and he knew that night I would be there, and indeed I WAS there. He came to look for me but he couldn’t find me. He called/sms, asking where I was. I told him I was at the same spot, where he was standing, but he walked around and around but couldn’t find me. At last he gave up and went back to the hotel. Can you imagine? Two people standing near the same pillar who couldn’t see each other. And it was at about 1am in the morning and it was the week when Qiyamulail had not yet started, so that area was empty. I was the only one at the pillar. So was he. And we couldn’t see nor find each other. Gee.

There were more, but I think these are enough. The rest are a bit too personal or far fetched that I don’t dare make it public. Go to the Holy Lands to experience it yourselves. Insya Allah.

Leave a Reply

