Lambat setapak

5 am. I have been awake since an hour ago. My sleeping cycle has gone kaput and for the past couple of days I have been neither here nor there, while trying my best to nurse a still ill husband. The exhaustion is still reeling. I don’t know what is it about this trip, the exhaustion is a class of its own that a simple task of washing the dishes made me so tired that I just needed to sit for a while and ended up taking a nap for half an hour. The husband, well, his health deteriorated since the 2nd last day we were there. Tapi dia nak step macho so he over exerted himself despite being sick to push himself for the last kopek whatever activities. On the last hour before we left Masjidil Haram proper, his fever ran very high and half his face started to swell.

In the flight, his high fever made him almost delirious and his face swelled even more. He was moaning and groaning and took extra dosage of painkillers to knock himself out. It didn’t help that our cabin crew were all trainees except for one, and they didn’t quite know how to handle a very sick person on flight. So painkillers and water to bring his fever down for what I feel was the longest 10 hour flight for me. Upon arrival, he was rushed to the hospital, I was dropped off at home with Sarah because I was on the verge of shutting down myself. He was put on drips, injected with antibiotics and his blood pressure was a swelling 180! Sometime near the end of the day, mutti called from the hospital saying his condition had stabilised and it was viral infection. He need not be warded but must be in bed rest. Great. The house was dusty all over, thanks to Beth, our Pinoy helper, who punked me and didn’t turn up to clean up the house before we come back, as promised. How can he get any better, bed resting in the midst of all the dust?

Teachers must be resourceful, right? Literally right across the big main road to our house is One World Hotel. So we spent the night there and I must say it was the best decision ever.

20120823-051723.jpg

As soon as we checked in, he crashed for almost the next 24 hours, waking up only to drink, toilet break and pray. What did I do? I checked out the hotel’s spa and had a full body scrub which rid me of all the desert grime. Then I went to One Utama Mall downstairs for deep cleansing facial and face peel, every speck and grain of desert dust extracted from my facial pores and last but not least, went to the hair salon just next door and had an intensive hair wash, cut and coloured my entire head copper. Feeling brand new, I crashed along in deep slumber every other moment there was a bed.

We are both still recuperating. Sarah is back home with us. She has had more Raya than us, who had none, going for one open house to another with Mutti. They were at Istana Sri Menanti in Negeri Sembilan for the Sultan’s open house on the first day and yesterday they had gone to Melaka for the Chief Minister’s open house, as Mutti was invited to both. But whatever little or non existent Raya we are having, does not really matter for we have had an awesome Ramadan.

Selamat Hari Raya/Eid Mubarak, Maaf Zahir Batin.
Sorry lambat beri ucapan. Betul masih tak larat ni.

20120823-053414.jpg

Leave a Reply

